• Blog
  • ILAC International Agreement of Mutual Recognition for Inspection

    January 10th 2013

    On 24th October, the accreditation bodies of 39 countries, including the National Accreditation Body (ENAC), became the first signatories of the new ILAC (International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation) International Agreement of Mutual Recognition for inspection activities. 

    This new agreement, which complements the one that has existed for years in Europe, will benefit over 200 ENAC accredited inspection entities (such as Litoclean), as well as companies that have their services, since it facilitates access to markets outside the community, which is important for Spanish companies nowadays.

    As in the case of laboratory services, this new inspection agreement is based on the recognition of agreements established and assessed at the three regional cooperation organisations that make up ILAC: European Co-operation for Accreditation (EA), Asia Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC) and InterAmerican Accreditation Cooperation (IAAC).

    Accredited once, accepted anywhere.

    Signatory accreditation bodies signing multilateral recognition agreements, MLA, use the same international standards, Standard ISO/IEC 17020 in the case of the new agreement, which guarantees a uniform approach in order to assess the competence of these bodies.

    This enables the establishment of transborder agreements based on the assessment and mutual acceptance of their accreditations and, therefore, that of the activities of the bodies assessing the conformity accredited thereby. In this way, a report or certificate issued by one body accredited by one of the signatories to the MLA can circulate and be accepted in the other signatory countries.

    The growing recognition and greater trust in accredited inspection services is increasingly reflected in the agreements signed within the framework of the World Trade Organisation. These agreements enable inspection bodies to render services to competent administrations with the approval of the WTO. 

    ENAC is a signatory of all the Multilateral Recognition Agreements established in international accreditor forums: Europea n Co-operation for Accreditation (EA), ILAC (International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation) and IAF (International Accreditation Forum), with regard to testing, inspection and certification.

    Having accredited services facilitates export and externalisation, enabling the Spanish companies to have recognised support in international markets for the free circulation of its products and services.

    Inspection services. Inspection is an essential element to ensure different aspects relating to safety, health, and the environment, and can affect both the different stages of the life cycle of the products, equipment and facilities–from their design to their removal from service-and working methods, processes and services.

    Inspection bodies conduct assessments on behalf of private clients, their parent organisations or official authorities, with the purpose of providing them with information on those aspects relating to conformity with legislation, standards or specifications.

    Today, accredited inspection is increasingly present in the different sectors of activity: industry, agriculture and livestock, energy, transport, health, construction, telecommunications…

    We use our own and third-party cookies to make our website work safely and personalize its content. Likewise, we use cookies to measure and obtain data on your navigation and to adjust advertising to your tastes and preferences. Press the "Accept all" button to confirm that you have read and accepted the information presented. To manage or disable these cookies, click on "Configuration". For more information see our cookies policy.
    Modify cookies
    Technical and functional Always active
    This website uses its own Cookies to collect information in order to improve our services. If you continue browsing, you accept their installation. The user has the possibility of configuring his browser, being able, if he so wishes, to prevent them from being installed on his hard drive, although he must bear in mind that such action may cause difficulties in navigating the website.
    Analytics and personalization
    They allow the monitoring and analysis of the behavior of the users of this website. The information collected through this type of cookies is used to measure the activity of the web for the elaboration of user navigation profiles in order to introduce improvements based on the analysis of the usage data made by the users of the service. They allow us to save the user's preference information to improve the quality of our services and to offer a better experience through recommended products.
    Marketing and advertising
    These cookies are used to store information about the preferences and personal choices of the user through the continuous observation of their browsing habits. Thanks to them, we can know the browsing habits on the website and display advertising related to the user's browsing profile.